Saint Anthony’s Battery is an artillery battery located in Qala, Gozo, constructed by the Order of St. John between 1731-1732 as part of a series of coastal fortifications built during the reign of Grand Master de Vilhena (1722-1736). The initial design of the battery revolved around a semi-circular gun platform and two blockhouses at the rear, however, this was changed and a semi-hexagonal front was built instead, making the overall design of the battery unique amongst Maltese coastal fortifications. The landward side of the battery incorporates a redan with thick walls and a number of musket loopholes, and access to the battery is protected by a ditch. The coat of arms of Grand Master de Vilhena is located on top of the main gateway into the battery. For the majority of its history the battery’s armament consisted of five 8-pounder guns and three 6-pounder guns. In 2007 the battery was entrusted to Din L-Art Ħelwa for restoration in conjunction with the Qala Local Council.