Taversoe Tuick Chambered Cairn, Rousay, Orkney3D Model
Taversoe Tuick is a Neolithic chambered cairn on Rousay, Orkney. The double-storeyed drystone structure consists of two separate levels of chamber, which were originally accessed via independent passageways. The lower level is cut into the bedrock of the hillside.
The circular cairn is surrounded by a secondary stone platform, beyond which is a small ancillary structure. This is also rock-cut, and linked to the lower chamber by a stone-covered channel.
The main cairn contained crouched burials and cremated remains, plus pottery, flint and other stone tools.
It was first discovered and partially excavated in 1898 under General Traill-Burroughs, with further works in 1937 by Walter Grant. Shortly afterwards, the structure was covered with a concrete roof.
The site is in the care of HES. It’s open to the public and free to visit. For information on visiting, visit our website. Discover more history of Taversoe Tuick in the HES Archives.