The Owl's Junction and Woodshed3D ModelNoAI
Constructed in c. 1929 above the garage and tool shed area at the Moseley Homestead, the “Owl’s Junction” became the living quarters and studio, with a workshop below for Karl Moseley, the artist son of Julia Daniels Moseley and Charles Scott Moseley. Later, a shed roof carport was added to the east side of the workshop.
Karl returned to the Florida homestead from New York in the mid-1920s during the Great Depression. He would work here for a federal arts project producing unique ink drawings for the Works Progress Administration (W.P.A.) with numerous pieces depicting “the historical phases of rural life around Tampa” In 1937, thirty of his works were part of a W.P.A. exhibition at the Fine Arts Building at the Florida State Fair Grounds in Tampa, and in 1938, a Florida Artists Series entitled “A Survey of Activity in Retrospect” toured the state’s Federal Art Galleries.
The Owl’s Junction structure is part of the Moseley Homestead- A National Register of Historic Places site from c.1886.