Our new draft mode will let you work on your models in peace before publishing them.
Imagine this scenario: you just uploaded a model and are working on tweaking its materials, lighting and whatnot. Before you’re finished you already receive a comment from someone pointing out the lack of finish. It’s Sketchfab angst, and it regularly showed up on our forums.
No more – as of today you can take as much time as you need to prepare your model before unleashing its awesomeness upon the world.
Here’s how it works:
- All new model uploads will now be in Draft state, making them invisible to other users.
- While in Draft, you can edit and re-upload and usual.
- When you’re satisfied with the result, you ‘Publish’ your model.
- There’s a new “Uploads” page in your profile where you get an overview of your uploads and their status (we’ll be adding detailed error messages in case your upload failed):
Some things to keep in mind:
- Once published, a model cannot go back to draft.
- Re-uploading doesn’t change the draft state (published stays published, draft stays draft).
- By default, models uploaded via the API are published automatically.
- When an upload fails, you’ll get more info on why it failed.
Don’t confuse draft models with private models! Only you can view them – you can’t share a link or embed until they’re published.